The Bigger Picture, Links for Week of 10/10/12

Other good reads this past week:

6 responses

  1. James H. Zimmerman | Reply

    My ballot just arrived in the mail.
    I wonder if we will have a chance in one of the forthcoming meetings to go over the ballot, the candidates, issues etc.? I would strongly like to suggest this.
    For my part, I am thinking of voting for a 3rd party candidate for President. Green?

  2. October 29. Next time I’ll do it a little earlier, since many of us in CA vote early by mail because in-person voter fraud is sooo tiring on the feet.

  3. James H. Zimmerman | Reply

    OK, I’ll wait till the 29th. Even though I’m being pressed on the phone and in person LOL.
    I will be glad when this is all over. The worst thing is all the pundits and talking heads having to predict the outcome of the election every six hours or so. (Not having a TV, fortunately, I miss all those ads).

    1. Is reducing free speech necessarily bad? As I understand it, the historical reason for the first amendment was to make sure that people were not sent to prison for finding fault with the government or those in power, as had been done often in England. That is the only real use I personally see for it. I am not so sure that fraud for personal gain (not necessarily financial) or inciting hatred, especially against those with little or no power, is necessarily something that we really should be fighting for.

  4. James H. Zimmerman | Reply

    Of course there are limitations on free speech. I suppose whether one, for example, has the right to make fun of Muslims or Mormons can be debated. In Europe, it is illegal to deny the Holocaust.
    But I am a free speech absolutist. Only the clearest and most compelling reasons can justify abridging it.

Leave a Reply

